Time for a Break

1 Jul

I recently started reading a great blog, The Diaper Diaries-“Always loaded, sometimes full of crap”.  I love the posts that the author writes.  She uses her blog as a diary, a place to share almost anything.  Sometimes there are product reviews, other times she writes about her children or an event that she attended.  As much as I enjoy writing about saving money, I think I would enjoy writing more “random” stuff.  So, this is a random post, and I plan to write more “randomness” from time to time.  Hopefully you won’t mind:-)

Time for a break… This summer makes two years of being a SAHM (stay at home mom).  My mother was a SAHM for most of my childhood.  I don’t think she returned to the work force until I was in middle school.  It was a wonderful thing to have her home.  She dedicated her life to us, our family.  At an early age, I knew I wanted to be a sahm.  I prayed that when the time came for me to have children, I would be able to stay at home and be like my mother. 

Well, in 2008, I gave birth to twin girls…following the birth of my son in 2007.  So, that makes 3 babies in 1 year…1 year and 10 days to be exact.  My DH and I sat down and had a very important conversation about our family and we decided that I would stay home, and stop working as a teacher for a while.  Needless to say I was over joyed that my prayers were being answered.  It has been such a blessing being at home caring for my children and home.  The children are only young once and I cherish my time with my family. 

With that being said, I am ready for and in need of a break!  Being a SAHM is a 24/7 job.  There probably isn’t any other job in the world that requires its employees to work, eat, sleep, shower and live on site.  There is no calling in sick or requesting a transfer…if you are committed that is.  Well, recently I realized I needed a break.  My DH clearly realized it too.  Last week he surprised me with a “me trip”.  A getaway just for me.  I am truly looking forward to spending time with myself.  To waking up when I want and possibly taking a nap.  Taking a shower without rushing and using the bathroom without interruption.  Going to a restaurant and not requesting 3 high chairs and feeling bad when we leave because there is more food on the floor than on the table.  I am looking forward to walking through another city and being seen as a woman and not as all of the many hats I wear.  I am going to let my hair down and in the words of one of my favorite quotes from A Different World, “relax, relate, release”!

I had to laugh as I wrote the last paragraph because I will more than likely enjoy the first 5 minutes of being alone and then I will be so lost without my family.  I absolutely love being Sam’s wife and mom to Maggie, Cole, Maddie and Macy and can’t imagine anything else, but I know I need this time away. 

It is so important for us as women to keep a part of who we are.  It is so easy to become totally wrapped up in our role as mother and wife, but if we lose ourselves, what can we really offer to those that we love?  Not much!  Do things for yourself, keep looking pretty, shop for yourself every now and then…even if it is at the thrift store or a consignment shop.  Get a massage, take yourself to lunch.  Oh, and continue to date your spouse!  Day to day life can get to be so monotonous so we have to work daily at keeping the “fire” in our relationship.  I am SO looking forward to upcoming time away with my hubby!  But that’s another post… That’s all I will say about that! 

I will write all about my 4 night getaway to Atlanta, Georgia.

One Response to “Time for a Break”

  1. michelle phelps June 17, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    that was the most interesting and great post i have read in any book in a very long time even thought you wrote it a longtime ago it seems so very uplifting that one a husband really notices his wifes need above his own and how he acted on just that . Yes! motherhood is very time consuming or rather life consuming but as long and your support system is right then its a little easier to take a breath every now and then!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

