Getting Started

16 Jun

It has been about a week since I created this blog and I have not been back on to start writing.  I think getting started is going to be the most difficult thing to do.  I read blogs that are published and updated daily and wonder how do people find things to write about everyday?  I am not sure what to write about…  My blogs main purpose initially was to discuss money saving tips, and I would still like to do that, but I think I need to broaden my horizons and write about various things.  Maybe I will select one day to write about saving money or strategies that I have used in the week.  On other days, maybe I will write about my 4 children, having multiples, being a stay at home mom, financial issues, marriage stuff, house hold stuff, the terrible…I mean terrific 2’s, my natural hair journey.  What do you think?  I am open for suggestions.  I think I will sit back and sip on my thoughts!  Hopefully I will have an Ah Ha moment!

2 Responses to “Getting Started”

  1. Mrs. Christian June 17, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    Hey There Mocha Mom!

    I think your blog is AWESOME, and I am not just saying that because you are one of my best friends 😉 I just wanted to let you know that while I think variety is cool, in this economy, saving money is a priority for pretty much every family, household, and individual! I think it is an extremely important niche and if you can stick to that, people will certainly stick to you and your tips! (I certainly can use some “coupon coaching.”) I have every intention to use coupons, bargain hunt, etc…but, like you, finding the time for anything is an issue for me, as a busy working wife and mother of three. Often, I just stop by the store whenever it is most convenient, and pick up a bunch of crap that I later kick myself for. OR I rush to grab the bare necessities and end up taking so many trips I begin wasting money on things I don’t need! I welcome the idea of useful suggestions and tips to SAVE!

    I too am a writer, and I have been searching my soul to find a niche for YEARS! I come up with countless topics and have started countless works. In my opinion, since you have found a much-needed niche, which I am sure will be highly in demand, I say you stick to that, and perhaps do if from various angles. For example, one day could be food savings, the next baby items after that SHOES! (I’m sure you get my drift). This way your site holds appeal for the masses, without losing its focus! I think everyone will check in daily to see the SAVINGS TIP OF THE DAY. If everyone tells a friend, you can become the GOLD MINE GURU of savings! I wish you the best, and you have your first daily visitor in me…no matter what route you decide to take.

    I love you!
    *Now I am off for a cup of something to sip on…which you have inspired =)

  2. Staci June 18, 2009 at 1:42 am #

    Hi Mrs. Mocha Mom,

    You’re off to a good start! I look forward to learning great tips on saving from someone I consider an expert in the field. You have chosen a fantastic niche. As a fellow blogger, I can offer some advice: 1) Stick with it even when you’re motivation is down because nothing feels better when you report a good deal; 2) Save an entry as a draft if it’s not finished in one sitting, so you don’t lose your train of thought. 3) Keep it fun to avoid getting bored.

    I wish you much success!

Leave a Reply

