Double $1 Coupon Day!

17 Jun

Wednesday might be my very favorite grocery shopping day of the week!  It is the day when Farm Fresh doubles $1 coupons.  I make it a point to go to the store every Wednesday to maximize my savings.


2 weeks ago I saved $90 using coupons and price matching.  In one store my total went from $39 to $3.  That is the type of shopping I like to do!  You can do it too!!!  Here is what you need to do…

  1. Make your grocery list in advance:  My goal is to create menus for each meal during the week and shop for those items needed on the menu.  That cuts out purchasing a lot of extra stuff.
  2. Check the current sales at your local grocery store: Most grocery stores start their new sales ad on Wednesday, buf if you are like me, the new flyer doesn’t get delivered until later in the week, so you should check the sales ads online.
  3. Get your coupons in order!  Hopefully you cut the coupons on Sunday and have them organized in a pouch, box or something- if not, do that soon!  Match your coupons to things you need on your grocery list and for items that you would like to get from the sale.   If you don’t have the coupons you need- check the online sites listed below.  Be sure you have a printer nearby to print any coupons you may want.

Coupons.com
Smartsource
Red Plum


LASTLY- Eat a snack and head on out!  Stay focused on your list and enjoy your savings!

*  Check with your local markets to see which stores offer promotions on various days of the week. Also, check and see if your grocery store does price matching.   For those of you new to the grocery store game may not be familiar with that term “price matching”.  It means that sales prices of other stores will be honored at your grocery store.  That eliminates that hassle of having to run from store to store.  You just have to have the current sales circular for the store that you want to price match.

FYI…

Kroger- Double Coupons up to $0.50 daily

Farm Fresh/Market Place- Double Coupons up to $0.99 daily, Double $1.00 on Wednesday & Price Matching (I was told the the Market Place Downtown Norfolk doubles coupons including $1 everyday!)


Harris Teeter- Double Coupons up to $0.99 daily (Every few months they have triple coupons!!!)


I am about to head to the store for my weekly grocery store shopping fix.  I will report on my savings later!  I hope you enjoyed your sip of Mocha!  Until the next time…happy savings!!


One Response to “Double $1 Coupon Day!”

  1. Michelle June 18, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    Great tips!!!! My problem is remembering to bring the coupons! LOL I will stay focused!

Leave a Reply

