Coupons, coupons and more coupons!

22 Jun

Almost everytime that I am in the grocery checkout line using coupons, someone will ask, “where do you get all of those coupons?”  I suppose that is a good question.  Well, my coupons come from various sources.  I would like to take a moment to share my sources with you.

  1. I make a point to purchase the Sunday paper.  My local Sunday paper has gone up in price by $0.50, from $1.50 to $2.00, so I purchase the paper from the Dollar Tree.  It was my intention to get the Sunday subscription, but I have not followed through on that intention.
  2. I print coupons from websites online.  There are numerous coupon websites, but I frequent 3.  They are coupons.com, smartsource.com and redplum.com.  I suggest that you print your coupons on plain white paper.  I made the mistake of printing on blue paper oneday, because that was all I could put my hand on, and they wouldn’t scan.  Some stores will manually input coupons, others say that the coupon has to scan into the system in order to be used.  I found that out the hard way!
  3. I visit specific company websites or contact a company directly requesting coupons.  Most companies have an official website.  Visit your the websites of your favorite food items and products and check for coupons or promotions.  Many will require that you register with an email address, but it is well worth it!  I created an alternate email address just for subscriptions and registrations to product groups.  Don’t forget to check that email address because those companies that you register with will email coupons or offers for freebies to you on a regular basis.  Recently I contacted the company that makes Thomas English Muffins and requested coupons.  They sent 4 coupons, one was for $4 Off.  I took that coupon to the local bulk store and purchased the package of 18 English Muffins priced at $4.29 and after the coupon, I paid less than $0.30.  Can you believe that?!?!?
  4. Due to the fact that I am always talking about coupons, some people have started giving their coupons to me.  My mother-in-law puts coupons for baby products aside and  a Deacon at my church brings an envelope of already cut coupons to me every Sunday.  Talk with your neighbors and co-workers and ask them to save their coupons for you.  What is going to possibly end up in their trash, could definitely save some money for you!
  • I haven’t done this one yet, but I think it is a great idea.   An older gentleman at the grocery store one night was basking in his coupon savings and shared this with me.  He suggested that I visit local nursing homes on Sunday evenings.  The residents read the papers, but do not use the coupons, nor do they keep the sales circulars.  So, you go and just request the coupons/sales flyers.  What an idea!!
  • The military papers apparently have coupons in them.  A lady I met recently said that she went all around the base and picked up the papers for the Chinette coupons.  She is a caterer and uses lots of paper goods.  She was able to purchase 7,000 Chinette plates for less than $1.00 using the coupons that she collected on base!  That is an AWESOME saving!!  7,000 plates!!  Wow!!

Hopefully you can see that taking the time to cut and sort coupons is well worth the time and energy.  It pays off in goods and money in your pocket!  I would love to hear from you about your savings!

Happy shopping and saving!  This was just a little sugar for your daily sip of Mocha!  Saving is sooooo sweet!!!

2 Responses to “Coupons, coupons and more coupons!”

  1. Tracy June 25, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    Hey,
    What about a coupon exchange. There are tons of coupons I come across on a regular basis that I will never use and I just throw away! What if there was a place to list the ones you have that you don’t need to see if someone else might need them? It might be too big a project for some, but for many, it’s nothing to spend a couple extra minutes cutting out the other coupons and spend a few cents to help someone out. Or, since we are all trying to save money, someone could pay the person the price of mailing it (what? about .44 and maybe a $1 for their time or maybe not the extra $1) through Paypal or just exchange with them so you are getting something you need for your time. Just an idea. Also, what about a post where we can list additional online coupon sites… sometimes a little deeper digging in google, if you have the time, turns up even more savings!

    • mochamom04 June 25, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

      Tracy, thank you for visiting A Sip of Savings with MochaMom04. I definitely agree with you about the coupon swap. I too, end up with many coupons that I will not use and frequently end up placing them in the recycling bin. There are definitely coupon swaps out there. I like the idea of swapping with someone locally to save the postage, but there are definitely some coupons that would be worth the $0.44.

      You are absolutely correct about digging deep into Google…you can find almost anything. There are SO many coupon sites and SO many ways to save money. It is my hope that I can provide others with ways to save BIG! Hopefully you subscribed to the blog. I will work on that list of websites that allow people to post coupons for swapping/trade. Stay tuned. I will have the info up for you very soon. Thanks for suggesting it!

Leave a Reply

