Double Coupons and Price Matching!

23 Jul

Price Matching and Double Coupons are a wonderful way to save money.  You get the greatest bang for your buck when you combine the two, price matching and coupons.  I keep telling you that saving money takes planning and it takes time, but the pay off can be HUGE!  So sacrifice a little time and save big!

Last night, after the babies were asleep, I and my9 year old daughter made our weekly trek to the grocery store.  Today is double $1 coupon day and I have a standing date with the grocery store.  I am known for doing price matches and having tons of coupons.  Tonight, I saved a whopping $72.98!  Actually it was more because the cashier did not apply a buy one get one free coupon…but I will be going back to collect my $2.19 tomorrow morning!  Every dollar counts!!  So, my total savings will be $75.17.  That is quite exciting to me.  That is a saving of about 78%, a little better than my savings from yesterday!

Here is a breakdown of what I purchased tonight:

  • 6pack Apple Sauce x3
  • Chex Mix x2 ($0.99 each)IMG_3705
  • Chex Cinnamon Cereal ($0.50)
  • Chex Chocolate Cereal ($0.50)
  • Cheerios ($0.50)
  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch ($0.50)
  • Quaker Quakes Minis x4 ($0.37 each)
  • Honey Wheat Loaf of Bread
  • Deer Park 3L Water x5 ($0.49 each)
  • 0.92lb Plums
  • 2.19lb Bananas
  • Tombstone Pizza ($2.49)
  • Smart Source Buttery Spread x2 ($0.49 each)
  • Dannon Yogurt x6 ($0.33 each)
  • Sunny Delight Smoothie x2 (Free)
  • Kotex Tampons 36 count ($1.00)IMG_3706
  • Kotex Pads 16 count ($0.50)
  • Carefree Pantyliners 56 count (Free)
  • Beechnut Cereal x4 ($0.33 each)
  • Ivory Body Wash 12oz x4 ($1.00 each)
  • Cologate Toothpaste ($0.05)
    • GRAND TOTAL= $20.44

Items in green were price matched from competitor stores.

IMG_3707

As I was leaving the store, a lady suggested that I give a workshop on how to shop smarter.  I think I just may do that!  It makes me sad to think that someone would have purchased these same items and paid $100.00!  We need to shop smarter, not harder.  Our money can go so much farther when we plan and shop with saver strategy!  I am still waiting to hear your saving money stories!


3 Responses to “Double Coupons and Price Matching!”

  1. Nicole July 23, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    hi

    a friend of mine showed me your blog and i’m addicted…i was wondering does your farm fresh price match? i went to the one near 2nd street in wburg and they said they did not!

    nicole

  2. Michelle July 23, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    That’s amazing Tonya! I would attend a workshop and it should include a couple of trips to the store. lol Which store did u go to?

  3. Trina July 24, 2009 at 3:09 am #

    That is awesome! How do you know if a store price matches?

Leave a Reply

