Calculations are Important!

4 Aug

Comparative shopping is essential in saving money.  Sometimes the base price seems really good, but when broken down, you may be paying too much for things like toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, diapers, baby wipes, sanitary items, socks and even packs of underwear.

So how do you figure out the per item price?  Take the price listed for an item and divide it by the number of items being sold.  For instance, last night my DH and I went to Target to purchase diapers- we have 3 little ones in diapers by the way.  I had coupons for Pampers Cruisers and Huggies and wanted to compare prices so that I got the most for my money.   Well, I was rudely awaken by the prices.  For the past few months, I have been purchasing diapers from the bulk stores- Sam’s Club, Costco and BJs, primarily BJs  because they allow you to stack manufacturer’s coupons on top of their coupons.  Well, the Pampers Cruisers were close to $30 for 96 diapers (in the size that I needed).  Calculated per item:  30/96 is $0.31 per diaper!  Whoa!!!  With my coupon of $3 off,  they would be $0.28 each.  Still rather high.  So, I moved on to the Huggies which were just a little less expensive.  Then I checked the price of the store brand which I have tried before and really like.  They in that box there were 96 diapers for $14.  That is $0.14 per diaper.  Compare the two prices:  $0.28 vs. $0.14.  Half!!  I am not stuck on specific brands.  I just want good coverage for my baby’s bottoms.  In the end, I was able to purchase 2 boxes of the Target store brand for the price of 1 Pampers Cruisers box of diapers.

You do the math! Literally!!  This concept should be followed when purchasing anything that comes in packs/multiple quantities.  You will find that you will save lots of money this way. Compare and Calculate are the key words for the day!

comparing-apples-and-oranges

Compare and Calculatecalculator

Subscribe to Mochamom04's Blog by Email

One Response to “Calculations are Important!”

  1. Nicole August 5, 2009 at 12:38 am #

    never thought about that! thanks…I started my own blog….even have a shopping trip sales up there..i know we have never met but in case you want to check it out
    nicolemcpherson.blogspot.com
    By the way, my husband and I are friends with Leslie & Tye Tyssen…Leslie got me hooked on your blog…I added your blog to my blog list hope thats ok!

Leave a Reply

