A Few Random Thoughts…

20 Aug

This week has been full of suprises.  When you request freebies, you never know when they will come.  Well, so far this week I have gotten a sample from Tampax- 3 tampons in a box just the right size to fit in my purse or the diaper bag, Infant Formula from Walmart-enough to make 32 ounces of milk, P&G Everyday Solutions coupon booklet with about $35 in coupons- $70 since I shop double coupon stores, a toilet roll extender from Cottonelle I believe, Head and Shoulders shampoo and coupons for Enfamil Formula. I cannot forget that tasty gallon of FREE ice cream that Schwan’s delivered Monday morning.  Savings can taste so SWEET!!

The shoes I ordered for my daughter from LLBean were delivered on Monday.  They are really cute and look like they will be comfortable and supportive.  They were initially more than $30, but I paid $6.99 each.  I didn’t realize that the rebate website that I registered with gives a $5 signing bonus, so I really paid $1.99 for one pair and $5.99 for the other, plus free shipping!  Now that is smart shopping!

Last week I received two envelopes filled with samples from “Yes To Carrots” an all natural company that makes body and hair products.  I read about their products on several hair social networks that I am a part of and thought I would try it, BUT, the products are not cheap.   I contacted the company and asked for samples so that I could try it before I buy it.  They sent samples and coupons!  It never hurts to ask.  My philosophy is “All they can say is NO”.  But if I never ask for a sample, coupon or freebie, I will never know what they have to offer.

Since this is a random thoughts post, I will add this thought.  Always follow through… I say this because I have been collecting sweepstake receipts from Farm Fresh for a month.  They have give-aways every now and then.  They give an entry form with your receipts that you must fill out and mail to some address in Baltimore, Maryland.  Well, I was determined to win this give-away for 4 Water Country tickets.  I must have compiled 20 entry forms that I filled out and set aside to mail at one time.  Guess what???  I missed the deadline!!! I could have screamed when I realized that I forgot to mail it.  To make it worse, I had already placed the entry forms in an addressed envelope.  All I had to do was pop a stamp on it and drop it in the mail before August 12th.  I blew it and forfeit a chance for $160 in free tickets to a local water park.  I am sort of down about it because I could’ve used that as part of a staycation!  Oh well…maybe next time I will follow through!! 

I didn’t make it to the grocery store for double $1 coupons like I normally do.  We got home from church around 9pm, had to feed little people and my DH, then get everyone down for bed.  By then it was too late to head out-alone.  At church I was informed that our secretary had been robbed at a grocery store in a neighboring city.  She was out shopping around 6pm and apparently her purse was stolen from the shopping cart when she was putting her groceries in her car.  Thankfully she was not hurt, because it could have been a lot worse.  She spent the evening contacting credit card companies and banks.  I am sharing this to remind all of us that we have to be careful, even in broad daylight.  Always be vigilent of your surroundings and try to do things that will make you less of a target.  Safety first!!

Thanks for reading my random thoughts and rambles!


Subscribe to Mochamom04's Blog by Email

4 Responses to “A Few Random Thoughts…”

  1. dressingmyself August 20, 2009 at 7:56 am #

    I just love getting free stuff! Or even ‘gift with purchase’ stuff.
    I am going out today with a bag that came with a magazine.
    I have a necklace that came with a magazine about 2 years ago – and it always gets positive comments.
    Sounds like you enjoy life and pack a lot in.

    • mochamom04 August 20, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

      It definitely feels good to receive free stuff! I love it! Getting a gift with purchase is always great. I used to be an Independent Sales Consultant with The Body Shop At Home and the Gifts w/ Purchase were always incentives for people to shop. I just subscribed to a magazine, maybe they will send a freebie my way! Look fabulous and feel good in your free bag and necklace! Work it!! Thanks for reading!! If you enjoy it, please subscribe!

  2. Momma Christian August 20, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    Mocha Mom, I don’t know if you have mentioned it in previous blogs, (I am behind), but in my area, NY and CO. is currently running their BOGO free pants sale. ALL pants, jeans, bottoms are BOGO free. What’s more is I found out that they recently began a promotion that gives all educators 15% off all purchases!

    I went and racked up on some “Back to School” gear for myself. They also gave me coupons worth $15 off of a $30 purchase (they give you one for every $30 you spend – and they must remain attached to the original receipt that earned them). I am going back to get tops to match my BOGO free bottoms with the coupons!

    Thought you might want to share this info with your subscribers. The blog and YOU are FANTASTIC. Keep up the wonderful saving sips!

    • mochamom04 August 20, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

      Momma Christian:-), thank you so much for the comment. I haven’t blogged on it, but I sure need to. I don’t frequent the malls like I used to, but on Saturday I walked through NY & Co and was very excited to see the sale. They are doing the BOGO on jeans, pants and bottoms here too! Thanks for the tap on the shoulder. I will get that posted ASAP! Folks going back to work and school could definitely take advantage of that sale. When I was teaching, I bought so many of my clothes from there.

      Thanks for the encouragement and love and for being a supporter and subscriber! I will keep sharing the sips of savings!

Leave a Reply

