Receipt Adjustments

8 Sep

Yesterday, my daughter and I enjoyed a day out together, school shopping and sale shopping.  Well, the school shopping plan of action included getting some adjustments on 2 receipts.  What do I mean by that?  Well, let me explain.

As you know, Wednesday is my grocery shopping day, but this past Wednesday I was in the bed sick with a head ache so bad, I couldn’t make it out of the house.  My DH and daughter agreed to go for me and pick up a few things.  I clipped the coupons, made the list and circled items in 2 sales flyers for price matching.  So they went to the grocery store and purchased everything on the list, paying $20.70- saving 38%.  Some of you may be cheering that he saved so much, well when I heard how much they spent, my eyes got really big.  I assumed they would spend less than $5 for the items on the list, so I reviewed the receipt.  My DH says that the price matching, having to point things out in various ads was just a little too much for him.

I broke the receipt down, dollar by dollar, making detailed notes on the back.  When I took the receipt to the store yesterday and explained everything to the store manager, I walked away with a receipt adjustment and credit of $20.09!!  So the groceries ended up costing $0.61!!!  It would have been $2.90, but they had to give a refund for an expired yogurt.  (FYI-At Farm Fresh, if you purchase an item, and it is expired they will give a 100% refund and you get a fresh item)

Here is what I got for $0.61

  • 4 Activia Yogurt 4 packs
  • 2 Keebler Cookie Packages
  • 1 Hershey Chocolate bar
  • 2 A1 Steak Sauces
  • 2 Danimals Yogurt 4 Pack Crush Cups
  • 2 Danimals Yogurt 6 pack Drinks
  • 1 Gallon Milk
  • 1 Fiber One Chewy Bars 5 pack

The second adjustment was at Dillard’s.  My mother took my oldest daughter school shopping at Dillard’s 2 weeks ago.  She purchased 3 shirts and 1 skirt that were on a clearance rack for $54.01.  While perusing the newspaper, I ran across the advertistement for Dillard’s, where the children’s clearance was 70%.  I immediately thought of those 4 items of clothing.  We took them back, asked the kind sales associate to scan the items to see if their prices had changed, and we left that store with a $22.00 credit!  EVERYTHING had dropped to a lower price.  Now, she has $22 to buy more stuff from Dillard’s.  Isn’t that awesome!!

Lesson for the day:  Always check your receipts and don’t be afraid to go get your money back!!


Subscribe to Mochamom04's Blog by Email

Leave a Reply

