The Grocery Store Game…

24 Sep

Tonight it felt as if I was on an episode of Supermarket Sweep.  Do you remember that show?  People raced up and down aisles looking for items, racing against another person and the clock.  Well, tonight that was my sister and me, although there weren’t any cameras following and no big prize at the end…other than savings, which is quite exciting!

I have some bad news…the grocery store that I frequent has stopped price matching:-(   Tonight, as we approached the store, we were greeted by Miss Brenda who dropped that bomb of information.  My sister and I were basically stopped in our tracks.  You must understand that we were two ladies on a mission.  We had our coupons, shopping lists and competitor ads.  We were READY!!

Long story short, there is something to be said about relationship.  One of the managers in the store obliged us with price matching since we had come on our regular night, at our regular time, to do our regular thing…shop and save!  Our dear friend Jesse was fortunate enough to be working tonight, and had the “pleasure” of checking us out.  As usual, we exited the store about 20 minutes after the closing time and headed home with our treasures.  I think everyone in the store exhales as we walk through the automatic sliding doors towards the car.

Here is what I purchased:

  • x5 Jiffy Corn Bread MixIMG_4049
  • x4 Chef Boyardee Raviolli
  • x4 Capri Sun Juice Boxes 10ct
  • x2 Honey Nut Cheerios
  • x2 18count Large Eggs
  • Colgate Toothpaste
  • x4 Ragu Pasta Sauce
  • x2 Richfood Cooking Spray
  • Cream of Wheat
  • Meuller Macaroni Elbow Noodles
  • x2 Ocean Spray Cranberry Juice
  • x2 Arm & Hammer Detergent
  • x2 NutriGrain Bars
  • Kellogg’s Cinnabon Bars
  • x10 Progresso SoupsIMG_4050
  • x5 Ken’s Salad Dressing
  • Nature’s Own Bagels
  • x2 Perdue Ground Chicken
  • x2 Perdue Turkey Burgers
  • Iceberg Lettuce
  • x2 Russett Potatoes 5lb Bags
  • 3.35lb Bananas
  • 2.95lb Cabbage
  • x2 Asparagus Bunches
  • x2 Eggo Waffles
  • x2 Freschetta Pizza
  • x2 DiGiorno Pizza
  • x6 Kraft Cheese (5 Shredded, 1 Sliced)
  • 1 Gallon Milk

Grocery Total:  $176.71 Amount Paid:  $71.60 Amount Saved:  $105.11, 60%

Although I am glad that I was able to shop and save tonight, my heart is heavy because they no longer price match.  That means that I have to visit several stores.  That is a bummer!  I will be contacting the store management and possibly the store owner on Friday.

On another note…Bottom Dollar matches competitor prices by a penny!  I am not a huge Bottom Dollar fan, but it is my duty to share information.  I will keep you posted on the price matching situation at my grocery store.


Subscribe to Mochamom04's Blog by Email

One Response to “The Grocery Store Game…”

  1. Michelle A September 28, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    Hey MochaMom04!! I have to tell you about my grocery shopping experience this weekend. It’s not as big as your savings but I think I did pretty well for my first big adventure! LOL
    I was ready with my ads from Harris Teeter, Kroger and Farm Fresh. First at Harris Teeter…signed up for their email service and received a $5.00 off coupon. I went there for the buy 2 get 3 free sales…
    Ken’s salad dressing
    Progresso soup
    Buy 1 get 1 free…
    Nutrigrain Bars
    Turkey Burgers (bought 4 all together)
    …with the sale, $5.00 coupon and my own coupons, I paid $15.01…saved $25.31

    Then to Kroger, it’s too long to list all but includes Kraft cheese (single and shredded), Tyson chicken, Chuck Roast, Yoplait yogart and Breyers yogart (got alot of these)…90 products for $118.17…saved $81.40.
    My girls kept asking why are we going to so many stores (I went to Bottom Dollar also, but lost the receipt…LOL)! LOL But I got myself a coupon organizer and when I stop working evenings, I am going with you on Wednesday nights for a field trip! Thanks for your tips!

Leave a Reply

