My Grocery Shopping Sob Story…

30 Sep

Today will be the first time in months that I will not be able to follow my normal routine.  Unfortunately, the store that I have frequented and blogged about has changed it’s store policy and no longer offers “Price Matching”.   Receiving this news last week was devastating and depressing.  As humans, we are creatures of habit, and shopping at the Market on Wednesdays for Price Matching and Double Dollar Coupons had become quite a habit for me, and others.  I built relationships with people in the store and truly looked forward to my shopping experience each week.

Now, I don’t know what I am going to do.  Well, I do know, but I am not looking forward to it.  I contacted the Market yesterday and spoke with the store manager.  He stated that he was not quite sure why Price Matching was discontinued, and suggested that it may have just been a summer promotion.  After I explained my standpoint on the change and the fact that I blog about their store EVERY week, he suggested that I contact customer relations.  I did not get a chance to reach anyone by the close of business on yesterday, but I will be calling them today.  I will more than likely follow up with a letter expressing my deep and heartfelt feelings about the removal of the program.

So, for this week, instead of taking ALL of my business to one store, I will visit several grocery stores.  I will no longer have the urgency to shop just on Wednesday’s, however I will still shop the Market/Farm Fresh on Wednesday’s for the double $1 coupons.  Can’t miss out on saving 2 bucks!

I will keep you posted on this issue.  Bottom Dollar matches competitor prices by 1 penny, so maybe I will try them out.  We will see what happens!

Happy Shopping and Saving!

Leave a Reply

