Savings Report

5 May

I miss posting my weekly savings, so I thought I would share some of my awesome recent shopping savings.  I absolutely get a thrill from shopping and saving.  My husband always tells me that I am feeding my addiction.  That may be true…but if I can feed my addiction to shop, while saving money then I see nothing wrong with it! 

4/30 Walmart:  Spent $50.46; Saved $80.68… This is what I purchased:  (2) Oral B Toothbrushes, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, (2) Swiffer Dust and Shine, Floss Picks 90 ct, (2) Always Pads, (2) Always Liners, 528 refill baby wipes, $10 in NYC make-up, (2) Digiorno Pizza & Breadsticks, (2) Nivea Body Wash, Aveno Facial Cleanser, Gillette Body Wash, Gillette Deorderant, Turkey Chops, (3) Wheatables Crackers, Flour, Apple Sauce, Sally Hanson Tweezers, Oral B Power Toothbrush, cooked deli chicken (which my DH ate while we waited in line).

4/30 Harris Teeter:  Spent $54.32; Saved $97.05…  This is what I purchased: Parchment Paper, (2) Ziploc EZ Zip bags, Wheatables Crackers, (2) Ortega Taco Sauce, Vanity Lunch Napkins, Hungry Jack Pancake mix, Corn Starch, Raisins, Wisk Detergent, Crest Toothpaste, Gillette Electric Razor, Tampax Tampons, Angus Chuck Roast, (2) Family Packs of Split Chicken Breasts, Pork Steaks, Sushi Spicy Rolls from sushi counter, Zucchini squash, 3lb Yellow Onion, Baby Carrots, 6 boxes of Pillsbury Toaster Strudels, Smuckers Uncrustables, (2) Digiorno Pizza & Breadsticks, Birds Eye Steam Fresh Veggies, (2) Green Giant Steam veggies, Minute Maid OJ, Simply Limeade, Sargento Sliced Cheese, 2 Dozen Lg Eggs, Silk Almond Milk, White Wave Vanilla Milk

4/30 Market at Harbor Heights (Farm Fresh):  Spent $24.17; Saved $27.88…  This is what I purchased:  (2) Ziploc Bags, Ziploc Steam bags, Gain Laundry Detergent, Dawn w/Olay dish detergent, Downy Ultra Fabric Softener, Krunchers Kettle Chips, (5) White House Apple Juice, Nabisco Oreo Cookies, Gallon Milk, (2) Apple & Eve Fruit Juice Boxes, Bananas, (2) Edy’s Fruit Bars

4/30 Express:  I purchased a pair of Boyfriend jeans that were originally $79 for $14!  I was quite excited about that purchase and they fit really cute too!!!

5/4 Harris Teeter: Spent $7.33; Saved $18.65… This is what I purchased:  Birds Eye Steamfresh Veggies, (4) Yoplait Kids/Trix 6pk yogurts, Breyers YoCrunch Yogurt, Dozen Eggs, Silk Almond Milk

5/4 Market at Harbor Heights:  Spent $16.75; Saved $17.47… This is what I purchased:  Lawry’s Marinade, (2) Tostitos Tortilla Chips, Gain Laundry Detergent, Downy Fabric Softener, (2) Bush’s Grillin Beans, (2) Apple & Eve Juice Boxes, Sweet Potatoes, Eskimo Pie Bars

Some of the savings are better than others, but each time I met my goal of at least saving half!  You may be wondering why I went to 3 different stores purchasing groceries on 4/30…well, I had SO many coupons that were expiring on 4/30 and I couldn’t just let them go to waste.  Everything I purchased we will use in the house so it is better to save up front and store it, than pay more later.

Over a month ago, I put myself on a spending strike, whereas I would only go to the grocery store for the basics…milk, juice, eggs, bread and challenged myself to use all of the items that I have stocked in the house.  Well, that didn’t last very long.  I am going to go back on the spending strike and try to only go to the grocery store when I “need” something.  I will keep you posted:-)

Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

